Location Adelaide,Australia Facilities
Funding Type Public No of Students
Type University Scholarship
Year of Establishment 1874 Marketing Material

The University of Adelaide is a public university in Adelaide, South Australia. Established in 1874, it is the third-oldest university in Australia and is associated with five Nobel laureates, 104 Rhodes scholars. It is a member of the Group of Eight, as well as the Sandstone universities.

Its main campus is on North Terrace in the Adelaide city centre, adjacent to the Art Gallery of South Australia, the South Australian Museum and the State Library of South Australia. The university has five campuses throughout the state: North Terrace; Roseworthy College at Roseworthy; The Waite Institute at Urrbrae; Thebarton; and the National Wine Centre in the Adelaide Park Lands. It has a sixth campus, the Ngee Ann – Adelaide Education Centre (NAAEC), in Singapore. The university operates several associated and independent research institutes and groups, such as the South Australian Health and Medical Research Institute (SAHMRI). SAHMRI is based at the health and biomedical precinct on North Terrace, Adelaide.

The 20th Vice-Chancellor of the University is Warren Bebbington. He commenced his position in July 2012 and announced his departure as of May 2017 following a failed initiative to combine five faculties into three.